Delicious, my first cow!

Our steer calf, Delicious!

He is a Brangus steer calf that weighs around 700 lbs now, I don’t know how much he’ll weigh when we get done feeding him out but I bet he will be massive!  He loves his sweet feed and is pretty gentle, he lets me pet on him and likes to smell my gloves.  I was told not to get attached, but he’s my first cow I can’t help it!  It does help to think about him feeding our family with  good quality meat for a long time and don’t have to worry about eating meat with all the hormones in it and stuff… he’s on a hay and grain diet only!

The first day this calf was at our house, I don’t think any of us will ever forget!  I had a front row seat to a bronc ride and steer ropin’… just another day of life in the country!  This steer has some spunk to him that’s for sure!!  He busted through fence and caused my husband, who is a retired bronc rider (or so he thought), and Yellar, our roping horse who hasn’t done anything but dodge cactus for the past two years, to saddle up and relive their glory days!!  They did a damn fine good too, I SO wish I would’ve had my phone with me to take pictures but living in the country and raising livestock sometimes you need all the extra hands you can get to help out in these situations!  Luckily my mom showed up just in time to help too.  While my husband was looking fine sitting atop Yellar (both were worn out after chasing down that calf and pushing him a 1/2 mile back into our pasture), my mom and I were on either side of the horse to help keep the calf (which was also very wore out) moving towards the holding pen.

Let me just say that steer was called many other things than Delicious that day!  But a few days have passed and he seems to be getting adjusted to his new surroundings.  I look forward to taking care of our new steer, what’s a few more things added to a long list of things to do everyday?  Still loving life in the country and dealing with all the many obstacles thrown our way… as long as our family works together, we can get through anything! 🙂

Wyatt, our trusted cow dog who helps in the wrangling!

My hubby…bronc riding on Roxy… who is actually just standing still! In the words of my 3 yr old son, “he’s so cray (crazy)”

Yellar and his little buddy of many names, he has been Alvin, Simon, Theodore, Eric,and Ariel (he IS a boy and my daughter could never make up her mind)!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 22:37:42

    Love that she called him Ariel…too funny! Tell her I love The Little Mermaid too (assuming that is where she got the name)!

    Reply

    • imalittlebitcountry
      Sep 29, 2012 @ 13:50:44

      Yes, she was a huge fan of The Little Mermaid! But sadly she’s growing up too fast and now wants a big horse, so the horse of many names will soon be going to the sale! Levi just completely by-passed the pony stage and he only wants to ride the big horses too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Raising a happy, healthy family..or at least trying too!

yourcrazymomma

Loving to Live & Learning to Love

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

